The Ampersand Prize 2022 

The Ampersand Prize is Australia and New Zealand’s premier award for unpublished writers of middle-grade, young adult fiction, and now also graphic novels!  

Created by Hardie Grant Children's Publishing in 2012, the Ampersand Prize has launched the careers of numerous best-selling and critically acclaimed authors. The most recent winner, H.S. Valley, published her young adult novel, Tim Te Maro and the Subterranean Heartsick Blues, in 2021.  

The Ampersand Prize team is passionate about uncovering brilliant debut novels and bringing fresh voices to the world. The winning author will receive a publishing contract with an advance against royalties, and rigorous editorial development to bring their book to market. 

You can find our full submission guidelines here.  

The Ampersand Prize will re-open for entries from 1–31 July 2022. You can now submit below.

Quick Links

Submission Guidelines
2020 Ampersand Winner

Previous Ampersand Winners

Tim Te Maro and the Subterranean Heartsick BluesStars Like UsThe brilliant ideas of Lily GreenOttilie Colter and the Narroway HuntIn the Dark SpacesThe Flywheel

Keep up to date on all the latest Ampersand Prize news.

 sign up to our newsletter!