ampersand prize

The Ampersand Prize is Australia and New Zealand’s premier award for unpublished writers of middle-grade, young adult fiction, and now also graphic novels!  

Created by Hardie Grant Children's Publishing in 2012, the Ampersand Prize has launched the careers of numerous best-selling and critically acclaimed authors. The most recent winner, H.S. Valley, published her young adult novel, Tim Te Maro and the Subterranean Heartsick Bluesin 2021.  

The Ampersand Prize team is passionate about uncovering brilliant debut novels and bringing fresh voices to the world. The winning author will receive a publishing contract with an advance against royalties, and rigorous editorial development to bring their book to market. 

You can find our full submission guidelines here 

The Ampersand Prize will re-open for entries from 1–31 July 2022. Please check back then for access to the submission link. 

Previous Ampersand Winners

Tim Te Maro and the Subterranean Heartsick Blues  Stars Like Us

2020 2018

The brilliant ideas of Lily Green Ottilie Colter and the Narroway Hunt 

2017 2016

In the Dark Spaces  The Flywheel

2015 2013

Inaugural winner - 2010